Probably Pregnant
8:11 p.m. - September 16, 2003

So I got up off the couch around two on Sunday and almost collapsed with pain.

I've had a terrible backache for two days now.

I took the day off yesterday and, for several reasons, I called both my family physician and my ob/gyn today.

From the ob/gyn: I'm starting a new birth control and wanted to make sure I could go on it after such a short period - one freaking day. She suggested, rather matter of factly, that I should take another test and remove the ring if I was pregnant and if it came up negative to take it out.

Duh.

Other than that, the nurse wasn't very helpful. They never get excited over anything.

From my family doctor: Lower back pain, the nurse said, definitely take a test.

So I took a test.

It came back positive.

A faint pink line in the first area - which deems you either pregnant or not pregnant - but definitely a line.

I could very well be pregnant. Very well.

It's my body. I know. I've suspected it all along. I could be wrong.

Or I could not.

My ob/gyn doesn't open until nine so I'm going to call my family doctor and see if she'll bring me in for a test first thing in the morning. They open at 7:30. That's still eleven agonizing hours away.

I talked to Deb about it tonight, showed her the test. Both of us are flabbergasted to say the least.

I'm not sure what to think or what I'm going to tell him or my parents.

I'm probably pregnant.

How 'bout that?

<< | >>