Softball & Starting Over
10:12 p.m. - August 05, 2003

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know - another new template.

As I went on the long New Template Search the other night I got to thinking about how nice it would be to Start Over... i.e. new template = new life. It doesn't happen like that though, does it?

But something happened tonight that made me realize I can start a new life. At least here, in Diaryland, I can. And it only takes a few clicks.

So I'm erasing it all. Putting it all behind me.

And this template wasn't too hard to find...I almost used it last time.

What happened?

I had no intentions of going to the softball game tonight. I was tired and allergy ridden and just wanted to go home and relax.

Then I found out that they were playing an undefeated team and Heather and I had been elected to play Support Ho's. So I hurried home, showered, met Heather for a bite to eat and went to the game.

They got their ass kicked but that's not What Happened.

If you've read me before you've probably noticed that the name Tim has come up more than once. Tonight they had too many players and he must not have known because he was there, dressed to play with nothing to do.

But flirt.

I mean, he's obviously flirted with me in the past. There wouldn't be rumors if he hadn't. And he's been calling recently to see if I'm going out or just to say hey. I can't say that I didn't get a little kick out of the flirting...I can't say that I haven't thought about him a little bit due to that new attention or that I don't think he's a good looking guy. And he's damned funny.

But this was...I don't know...Cute Flirting. Overt Cute Flirting.

So, like I said, they lost and we went back to the apartment for a few beers. I didn't want to stay long so had a couple of beers and was saying my goodbyes when I heard Tim say, "I think I'm going to take off, too."

In-ter-est-ing.

We walked outside and he said, "I'll walk you to your car."

By this time I was trying to be coy but was smiling on the inside.

We talked for a few minutes, leaning against my car, about work and blah blah blah. And then he says, "You know, I've liked you since I started last summer."

Hello, Sweet Valley High.

I kind of laughed and told him that I remembered when he started. "I remember telling Georgia that you were kinda cute...I liked your hair."

Then there was some of that awkwardness. I'd forgotten what that felt like. Nervous but comfortable, you know?

Then I remembered something he had said a long time ago. We were talking about picking up chicks at bars and he had said he could talk to women but couldn't ask them out. He'd never asked a girl out. Ever.

"We should hang out sometime," I said, "You know, like without all of the people from work."

He agreed and looked at me.

"What?"

I don't like it when people look at me and I don't know what they're thinking.

"You're so cute."

Blush.

"Thanks."

More of that awkwardness. Then I said that I'd better get going.

"Yeah," he said. And he kissed me. Just a kiss. A little kiss. But nice kiss. "I'll see you in the morning."

Then I got in my car and left.

You know what was the best part? If he had been any one of those other assholes I work with he would have asked me to come back to his apartment. But he didn't. That was nice.

I forgot what all this feels like. Liking someone. Knowing that someone else kinda likes you, too.

Likes. Nothing else. Just likes for now.

And a new Dido song is playing on the radio right now. It must be a sign.

So I'm off to delete the past and start over.

G'night.

<< | >>